By Kabuye Ronald
The National Resistance Movement NRM has this evening finally succeeded in electing its six East African Legislative Assembly EALA who it will submit to parliament for approval.
The elected candidates are in names Paul Musamali, Rose Akol , George Odongo, Mary Mugyenyi, Dennis Namara and Mathias Kasamba.
In today’s elections former Rubanda east Mp Henry Banyezaki pulled out of the elections in protest of change in the rules of the game while Capt. Edward Francis Babu left during the  tallying process
It should be noted that on tuesday evening the election which were also held at state house entebbe flopped and were postponed to today at 2pm following the chaotic scenes in protest of the set new voting  procedure.

The voting process turned chaotic during the tallying stage after some delegates voted for 7 candidates instead of the six out of the 36 candidates.

Members of Parliament and candidates hijacked the tallying point from the electoral officials led by its Chairman, Prof. Tanga Odoi

The Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa who is also the Chairperson of the Caucus and the party vice chairperson Hajji Moses Kigongo  tried to intervene but in vain thus the postponement.
The NRM secretary general Justine Kasule Lumumba who was apologetic of whatever happened said that the exercise will be repeated today with every voter atleast  voting for two women, one youth and person with disability and other  two to make a total of six candidates.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.