Happening now: Swearing in new EC team at the High Court


The new Electoral Commission chairman Justice Simon Byabakama, his deputy Hajati Aisha Lubega and 4 commissioners are swearing in at High Court in Kampala presided over by Chief Justice Bart Katureebe.

The new commissioners include; Peter Emorut, Stephen Tashobya, Prof George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebagala who were approved by Parliament on December 6 last year.

However, opposition legislators boycotted the vetting process protesting the mode of their appointment by President Yoweri Museveni.

They couldn’t participate in a process that will not guarantee an independent electoral body as demanded by the “people” through the Inter Party Organisation for Dialogue (IPOD).

“The President hurriedly appointed members of the Electoral Commission without considering the popular views…we believe the voice of the Ugandan should be heard and we cannot, without the mandate of Ugandans, take part in the vetting exercise,” Ms Winnie Kiiza, the Leader of Opposition in Parliament, told the press.

The Byamakama Administration was appointed after his predecessor Eng Badru Kiggundu and team’s contract expired last November. However in Kiggundu’s reign only two senior officials- the secretary Sam Rwakoojo and commissioner Justine Byabagabi stayed in office until 2021.

Kiggundu always faced resistance from opposition leaders including Col Kizza Besigye who accused the former chairman of being a regime element.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.