Mathias Rukundo elected new Journalists (UJA) president

Journalists in Uganda have today elected Mathias Rukundo who works with the new vision as their 9th and new president for the period of 2020-2022 in their supreme body Uganda Journalists Association (UJA). Rukundo who went through unopposed was declared as the new president by Mr. Chaggason Musoke a returning officer who also conducted the previous elections which ushered in Hajji Kazibwe Bashir Mbaziira’ presidency and leadership.

Mathias Rukundo elected new Journalists (UJA) president

In the same Uganda Journalists Association (UJA) general assembly, Doreen Mwesige Ampumuza  was elected as the Vice president, Kirunda Emmanuel as the Secretary General deputized by Ssebaduka John Paul, Bayola Moses as the Treasurer, Kabuye Ronald as the spokesperson (PRO) deputized by Daniel Mumbere, Wasajja Mahad as the organizing secretary, Michael Mutumba as secretary for Education, Mugerwa Patrick as secretary for employment, Rebecca Kyobutungi as secretary for women in media, Kasule Farouq as secretary for media safety and human rights, Abbey Ramadhan as secretary for production among as others.

Unlike in the previous elections were the regional representatives (regional vice president) are elected in the general assembly, this time they will be elected in their respective regions.

The Association constitution also mandates the sitting executive or cabinet to appoint suitable journalists to fill up the vacant positions.

Meanwhile, in his speech Rukundo said that very soon he and cabinet will launch their strategic plan and he will report back to the members every after three months about the status of the association.

In the same way the Global peace foundation ambassador Milton Kambula who was invited as a guest urged journalists to engage in programs that uplift their welfare and to uphold their professional ethics.