The Uganda Hippos (4-1) Tanzania As Uganda Become The Record Champions in Cecafa U-20

By; Denis Kayongo. Uganda U20 have out played the Reigning champions Tanzania in the Cecafa seniorThe Uganda Hippos Have won Cecafa U-20 for the Fourth (4th) Time challenge cup U20 in the final as Uganda becoming the record Champions with Four Tittles.

The Uganda Hippos (4-1) Tanzania As Uganda Become The Record Champions in Cecafa U-20

The Cecafa U20 senior challenge cup was founded in 1971 and Tanzania were the first Nation to win this tournament
Uganda have been tied up with Ethopia in term of holding the Trophy, both of the two nations winning it Thrice but today Uganda has escaped away from Ethopia having won the tournment for the fourth time

Uganda started this tournament struggling in the group stages. Under the head coach Morley Byekwaso, the campaign started on Monday/23/Nov/2020 playing against South Sudan where the team settled for a Goal-less draw.

The Second game in the group stages was against Burundi where Uganda outclassed thier Neighbors by (6-1) and went straight to Quater final.

In the quater final, Uganda faced the Noisy neighbours Kenya where by these two teams came with the aim of qualifying for AFCON U-20 which will be in Mauritainia. At the end of the match Uganda qualified for AFCON U-20 leaving Kenya to fight for the third place against South Sudan which were also eliminated by the Hosts Tanzania but unfournately Kenya lost to South Sudan by (2-1). 

The Tournament has ended today in Tanzania where Uganda have been named the Champions of this year's Edition stoping the spell of almost Ten years without winning this tournament since 2010 in Eritrea.

Uganda last won this Trophy in 2010 which was in Eritrea but also in the final they played against hosts Eritrea and overcomed them in the penalty shotouts (5-3) since the game ended (1-1) in normal time.

Uganda had a lot of quality players by that time, players like Dan Sserunkuma, Umar Ngobi, Ivan Bukenya, Patrick Edema, and  Saddam Juma were some of the players who last won this tournament in 2010.

Uganda are now Reigning Champions in CECAFA Region All Over the Unders
Uganda U15 (Boys)
Uganda U17 (Girls)
Uganda U17 (Boys)
Uganda U20 (Men)
Uganda Cranes (Senior Challenge Cup)
KCCA FC (Kagame Club Cup) 

Cecafa U-20 2020 Results
Winners   Uganda
Finalist    Tanzania
3rd          South Sudan
4th          Kenya

Ivan Bogere (Uganda) was Named Top Scorer of the Tournament having scored Five (5) Goals 
Jack Komakech (Uganda) was named the best Gaolkeeper having conceeded only Three (3) Goals
Pasco Musinde (Tanzania) was named the Most Valueable player (MVP) of the Tournament
South Sudan Team was awarded with the Fair Play award

Individual Awards
Top Scorer - Ivan Bogere (Uganda) Five (5) Goals

MVP - Pasco Musinde (Tanzania)

Best Goalkeeper - Jack Komakech (Uganda)

Fair Play Award - South Sudan

Recent Winners
1971     Tanzania
1973     Uganda
1975     Kenya
1981     Somalia
1995     Ethopia
1996     Ethopia
1999     Kenya
2003     Zanzibar
2005     Ethopia
2006     Uganda
2010     Uganda
2019     Tanzania
2020     Uganda