Uganda, 44 others sign CFTA agreement in Rwanda


By Davis Joel

Over 40 African presidents and several representatives from various countries have today gathered in Kigali, Rwanda and signed the Continental Free Trade Area Agreement (CFTA).

This agreement involves 55 countries however, only 44 countries have signed the agreement, which will be the largest Free Trade Area by number of countries.

the agreement will also establish a single market for more than 1.3 billion people.

In this meeting Uganda was represented by Foreign Affairs minister Sam Kahamba Kuteesa, and Trade minister Ann Amelia Kyambadde on behalf of president Museveni Yoweri Kaguta.

By 2025, the CFTA is expected to be worth $3 trillion of gross domestic product.

“The onus is on us as Uganda to take advantage of this huge market bearing in mind that we are opening our market too for products and services from all African countries”, Sam Kuteesa the Uganda’s foreign Affairs minister said.

The 44 include the following : Niger, Rwanda,  Chad,  Kenya,  Angola,  Central African Republic,  Comoros, Congo,  Ghana, Gambia, Gabon, Mozambique, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Mali, Cameroon, Egypt, Sudan, Swaziland, Algeria, Morocco, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Togo, DRC,  S Sudan, Liberia, Mauritania, Somalia, Equatorial Guinea, Burkina Faso,  Guinea, Libya, Uganda among others.

Meanwhile in the same meeting other 27 counties also signed the Protocol on Movement of Persons, right of Establishment and Right of Residence to set up rights security to residents in the signed countries.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.