October 28, 2020
October 28, 2020

VU’s Joseph Biribonwa appointed chairperson of NIRA


By Kabuye Ronald
Joseph Biribonwa, the Victoria University Vice Chairperson of the University Council has been appointed the chairperson of the National Identification and Registration Authority (NIRA).
‘We at Victoria University congratulate our Vice Chairperson of the University Council, Mr. Joseph N. Biribonwa upon his new assignment as the new Chairperson of the Governing Board of the National Identification and Registration Authority (NIRA). We know Mr. Biribonwa as a seasoned expert in democracy & governance, management & administration, finance and corporate governance, with over forty (40) years of professional experience. He also served as Deputy Chairperson of the Uganda Electoral Commission and Chairperson National Initiative for Civic Education in Uganda (NICE-Uganda)”
Biribonwa, also served as the commissioner of the Electoral Commission between 2002 and 2009, replacing Prof. Peter Kasenene who resigned his position in 2018 and Ruth Nvumetta Kavuma has been serving in an acting capacity  since then.
Biribonwa’s appointment and those of other board members were approved by Cabinet in a meeting held on Monday, January 13, 2020.
Kavuma will remain the board vice-chairperson while Dr. Betty Kivumbi Nannyonga has been appointed a board member. Other board members are Maj. Gen. Apollo Kasita-Gowa, a representative of the Directorate of Citizenship and Immigration Control James Saaka, the representative of National information technology authority Uganda(NITA-UGANDA)  Bemanya Twebaze, a representative of the Uganda Registration Services Bureau,Dr. Paul Kintu, representative of the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Dr. Chris Ndatira Mukiza  Representative of Uganda Bureau of Statistics.
Cabinet has also approved the appointment of members of the Board of Directors for the National Animal Genetic Resources Center  and Data Bank. Dr. Johnson Nkuuhe  is the board chairperson. Dr. Juliet Sentumbwe, the Director Animal Resources, Mr. Paul Ssekyewa, representative of the Fish breeders, Dr. Herman Sekiwunga, representative of the Animal breeders and Dr. James Oluka, a representative of the National Agriculture Research Organization, among other members.
Eng. Ssenozi Robert, the representative of farmers in Central region,  Dr. Kibeedi Kabral, representative of Farmers in the Eastern region,  Ben Anyama, a representative of farmers in the northern region, Loice Biira Bwambale, representative of farmers in the Western region,   Teddy Alako, representative of the Ministry of Finance Planning and Economic Development,  Dr. Richard Akule, the representative of the Uganda National Artificial Insemination Technicians Association, and Dr. Charles Lagu, the secretary, complete the list.
Facebook Comments


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Corona Virus Banner

The Ministry of Heath has revealed that all the 639 samples tested at the Uganda Virus Research institute