Trusted News Portal

Mbale Heroes Return to UPL After 17-Year Hiatus


Sunday, May 26
*Blacks Power 1-0 Kiyinda Boys
*Mbale Heroes 2-1 Onduparaka
*Calvary FC 2-0 Kataka
*Police 2-0 Kigezi Homeboyz
*Booma 4-2 Young Elephant
*Lugazi 2-0 Kaaro Karungi

After a 17-year absence, Mbale Heroes have triumphantly secured promotion to the Uganda Premier League.

The Heroes clinched their spot with a thrilling 2-1 victory over Onduparaka on the penultimate match-day of the 2023/24 FUFA Big League season.

The decisive match saw Shafic Kiberu open the scoring for Mbale Heroes with a spectacular direct freekick right before halftime.

The team’s momentum continued into the second half, with Daniel Shabena doubling the lead in the 70th minute.

Onduparaka’s James Jarieko managed to pull one back, but it was too little too late to alter the outcome.

This victory propels Mbale Heroes to 49 points, a tally that ensures their promotion as neither Kataka nor Onduparaka can surpass it in the final match-day.

The win is a testament to the team’s resilience throughout a season that saw significant changes, including the sacking of Head Coach Asaph Mwebaze despite the side being in third place.

And new coach Simon Ddungu has been at the helm since, officially steering the side to top-flight return.

Mbale Heroes’ journey to the Uganda Premier League is particularly noteworthy given their recent promotion from the Regional League (third division) just last season.

The last time Mbale Heroes competed in the Uganda Premier League was in the 2006/7 season, which ended in relegation alongside Mukono United, City Lads, and Masindi Town Council. The Heroes finished third from the bottom in a 17-team league, with a total of 31 points.

They join Police and Lugazi as the three promoted sides to next season’s UPL, replacing Arua Hill, Gaddafi and Busoga United who were relegated from UPL.

Mbale Heroes will wrap up their campaign next Sunday away against Kiyinda Boys.

Players Used

Mbale Heroes – Paul Mujampwani,
Geoffrey Lubanga, Adrian Sserugo, John Ssekyaaya, Abasi Faizal Kiberu, Bahati Ronald Kibalatsi, Fahad Nsamba, Abdallah Sentongo, Isaaya Sabiiti, Shafiq Hakiramu Muzanyi, Abudul Malik Bironse

Onduparaka – Yunus Yasin Dafala, Benard Ndifuna, Sabir Simba, Jonathan Mungufeni, Ibrahim Musa, Swaleh Mahadi, Noah Sabir Mayor, Nelson Mandela, Alex Adriko, Samson Ceaser Okhuti, Ezra Bida

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.