Trusted News Portal

MP resigns from parliament citing emotional strain


By Leonard Kamugisha Akida,


Member of Parliament (MP) Yandani Boko dramatically announced his resignation from Parliament. Boko was the MP for Mahalapye East under the Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC).

He handed over his resignation to the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Phandu Skelemani March 7, marking the end of his short political career.

Professional CV writing and Accounting services Ad.

In a resignation letter, the legislator said being a representative of his constituents was a fulfilment of a dream, one that he would cherish forever as he retires from active politics.

“I am proud of my record in this house. I gave it my all and I have learnt invaluable lessons from all of my colleagues in Parliament. I, therefore, would like to extend my profound love to the people of my constituency and the nation at large.” he said.

Boko vowed to continue to champion the country’s ideals and aspirations and to explore other ways of serving Botswana.

Speaking to journalists shortly after handing in his resignation, Boko said the decision to resign is due to his desire to refuel his mental strength and reshape his life.

He said being an MP was draining and that he was tired emotionally and psychologically because of the people he did not disclose who were against his being a member of parliament and wished him death.

“I had to quit following consultations with my family and those close to me,” he said.

MP Yandani Boko resignation letter to speaker of parliament of the Republic of Botswana

He said the strenuous political life prompted him to resign in order to have peace of mind.

“I simply want some time out from politics and to spend more time with my family,” he said.

See also  Zombo grapples with 70% drop out rates for school girls

He said he would still meet with his constituents at social gatherings to acknowledge the faith they had in him.

Boko was voted as a member of the 12th Parliament at the age of 32 and was one of the youngest legislators in the country’s history.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.