Trusted News Portal

Opposition candidates complain of intimidation

FDC delegates headed by party president Patrick Oboi Amuriat in Dokolo to witness their candidates nomination. PHOTO URN

Dokola, Uganda | THE INDEPENDENT | Opposition candidates nominated for the Dokolo Parliamentary By-Election have decried the high levels of intimidation being exerted on them.

The candidates who expressed fear for their lives and their supporters, want the Electoral Commission to provide them with enough security.

Anna Grace Lalam, an Independent candidate cited intimidation from the ruling National Resistance Movement- NRM party, saying the party never wanted her to be nominated.

Harriet Ageno, from the National Unity Platform (NUP) accused her opponents of defacing her campaign posters and threatening her.

Despite the intimidation, the two women candidates have promised improved services such as health, education, and road networks across the district.

But according to Patrick Jimmy Okema, the North Kyoga Police spokesperson, no candidate has reported such a case of intimidation to Police. He said police is ready to protect every candidate and their supporters.

Erikwanie Ngobi, the Dokolo District Registrar explained that no candidate is allowed to campaign at the moment until after the harmonization of campaigns. He urged all nominated candidates to attend the meeting.

On the other hand, Jimmy James Michael Akena, the UPC Party president who accompanied the party’s candidate Sarah Aguti Nyangkori for nomination, assured their supporters of a clear win, regardless of any interference saying UPC learnt a lot from the Oyam by-election.

Meanwhile Patrick Oboi Amuriat, the FDC Party president is hopeful that the by-election will be free and fair without interference.

He warned the government against denying the people of Uganda service delivery because they are voting for opposition politicians.

On Monday, the Electoral Commission opened nomination for aspirants vying to occupy the vacant Dokolo Woman Member of Parliament seat following the death of MP Cecilia Barbara Atim Ogwal in January this year. At least six candidates including Janet Rose Adongo Elau from NRM party, Rosemary Austin Alwoc Ogwal from FDC, Sarah Aguti Nyangkori from UPC were nominated.

Others are Harriet Ageno from NUP, Esther Akullo Obot, and Anna Grace Lalam, both are independent candidates.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.