Trusted News Portal

FWSL: Kawempe Muslim Dethrone Kampala Queens


Kawempe Muslim needed two second half goals from Allen Nasaazi and Agnes Nabukenya to win their first FUFA Women Super League (FWSL) trophy.

The Valley Warriors have been crowned 2023/24 FWSL Champions at the expense of Kampala Queens WFC, who couldn’t defend the title after convincingly winning it last season.

Ayub Khalifa’s side came into the game needing at least a draw to clinch the title.

They hadn’t won the league title in over the past five years, since they last won it in the 2017/18 season, when it was still called the FUFA Women Elite League (FWEL).

Juliet Adeke was in goal the last time Kawempe Muslim won the league title in 2018, and she started in goal again, and kept a clean-sheet on Sunday as her side won 2-0 to clinch their overall 5th, and they did so in style, infront of their home fans at the secondary school ground.

Crested Cranes Head Coach Sheryl Botes was present at Kawempe Grounds to witness the Valley Warriors strip the Crown off the Queens of Soccer, who for this particular time couldn’t carry on with their recent dominion.

In the early morning kickoff, Hadijah Babirye momentarily thought she had scored first to put the hosts ahead as she had the ball to the back of the net, but her strike was ruled out for offside.

Both teams went into the halftime break without any goal to their name, with the two sides playing cautiously to see that no goal was conceded in the first 45 minutes.

As the game approached the 70th minute, Nabukenya pulled off an outstanding effort to break the deadlock. She struck the ball ferrociously from outside the box to score direct from a freekick in the 67th minute.

Nabukenya has always tormented the Kampala Queens, in the reverse fixture, away from home, the forward bagged a brace to condemn the Queens of Soccer to a 2-0 loss at Lugogo.

It was Nabukenya again, who scored for Kawempe Muslim to win 1-0, and stop Kampala Queens unbeaten run last season.

After Nabukenya’s goal on the final FWSL match day on Sunday, Allen Nasaazi doubled Kawempe Muslims’ lead in quick succession, as she scored the second goal for the hosts in the 75th minute to all but but confirm the much deserved victory for the home side.

Kawempe Muslim finished the season top of the table with 40 points from 18 games, four more than Kampala Queens who accumulated 36 points in as 18 games.

The new Champions managed 12 wins, 4 draws and lost just twice throughout the whole season.

Since the change of name and rebranding in 2019, the FWSL title has been won by Lady Doves in 2021, She Corporate in 2022, and Kampala Queens in 2023, and now Kawempe Muslim in 2024. The 2019/20 season was cancelled due to the outbreak of COVID-19.

Lineups Used:

Kawempe Muslim XI; Juliet Adeke (GK), Phiona Nabulime (C), Jolly Kobusinge, Agnes Nabukenya, Ritah Mushimire, Samalie Nakachwa, Hadija Babirye, Mary Kabaculeezi, Shakirah Nankwanga, Krusum Namutebi

Substitutes; Rhoda Nanziri, Esther Nangendo, Allen Nasaazi, Halimah Kampi, Saidah Namwanje, Sharifah Nakimera, Rebecca Nakato

Kampala Queens XI; Daisy Nakaziro (GK), Teddy Najjuma, Catherine Nagadya, Shamirah Nalugya, Jamilah Nabulime, Zainah Nandede, Patience Nabulobi, Winniefred Kwatulira, Esther Namusoke, Mercelline Wayodi, Anitah Namata

Substitutes; Gloria Namakula, Lukiya Namubiru, Damali Matama, Lillian Kasubo, Zaina Namuleme, Sofia Nakiyingi, Judith Sanyu, Shakira Mutibwa, Asia Nakibuuka

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.