Trusted News Portal

Uganda Cup Final: Kitara, NEC Set for High-Stakes Showdown


Saturday, May 25
*Kitara Vs NEC – Wankulukuku, 3pm

The stage is set for a thrilling climax to the Stanbic Uganda Cup as Kitara and NEC, both newcomers to the Uganda Premier League, face off in the final on Saturday at Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku.

This unexpected matchup promises an exciting contest, with both teams looking to cap their impressive UPL debut seasons with a prestigious trophy and a ticket to the CAF Confederation Cup.

Few would have predicted at the start of the campaign that these two clubs would make it this far.

And it’s strong to note that in the league, Kitara and NEC also exceeded expectations in the league, finishing 4th and 6th respectively.

Their journey to the final has been marked by resilience and standout performances, notably, Kitara eliminating holders Vipers via shootouts.

In the league, both teams split their meetings; In November, Kitara secured a narrow victory over NEC in Masindi, thanks to a goal from Jude Ssemugabi. NEC exacted revenge in April with Cromwell Rwothomio’s decisive goal securing a win at Lugogo.

Kitara will be bolstered by the support of a large crowd, expected to turn out in full force to cheer them on.

Both teams are playing in a Uganda Cup final for the very first time, and a prize money of Sh50m awaits the overall winner.

Team News

  • Kitara will continue to miss defender Ibrahim Magandaazi.
  • George Senkaaba and goalkeeper Chris Kusiima have all returned to the squad
  • NEC will miss Joseph Dhata who is on suspension
  • Kayanja Brian is sidelined due to injury.

Road to final

*Round of 64: Nebbi Central 2-1
*Round of 32: Gaddafi 2-0
*Round of 16: SC Villa 2-0
*Quarters: Vipers 2-2 (5-4)
*Semis: Pajule Lions 4-1, agg

*Round of 64: Northern FC 2-1
*Round of 32: Acholi United 5-1
*Round of 16: Busoga United 1-0
*Quarters: Police 2-0
*Semis: BUL 3-1, Agg

Uganda Cup Past Winners Since 2000

2000 – SC Villa
2001 – Express
2002 – SC Villa
2003 – Express
2004 – KCCA FC
2005 – URA
2006 – Express
2006/07 – Express
2007/08 – Victors
2008/09 – SC Villa
2009/10 – Victors
2010/11 – Simba
2011/12 – URA
2012/13 – Victoria University
2013/14 – URA FC
2014/15 – SC Villa
2015/16 – Vipers SC
2017 – KCCA FC
2018 – KCCA FC
2019 – Proline
2019/20 – Null and Void
2020/21 – Vipers
2021/22 – BUL
2022/23 – Vipers
2023/24 – ???

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.